< back to Blog home
Sarah Ward

Gluten Free Alcohol, Liquor, and Drinks Master List

Table of Contents
Thank you! Check your inbox for details.
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

Whether you’ve tried the diet yourself or know someone who has, chances are you’re familiar with eating gluten free. Gluten is a grain protein that gives bread products their shape and provides a chewy texture. 

About 1% of the United States’ adult population has celiac disease, which is the term for gluten allergy. This is a little over 3 million people, and the amount of gluten free people increased 238% between 2009 and 2014. About 28% of that 3 million have a gluten sensitivity, whereas the other 72% are simply those not eating gluten products. 

Many alcohol products are gluten-based because drinks like lager and stout beer come from grains. Thankfully, there’s an increasing amount of alcoholic gluten-free beverages, including gluten free wine brands. Continue reading to find out if Amaretto is gluten-free, as well as other popular alcoholic beverages. 

binwise pro demo request, gluten free alcohol article

Does Alcohol Have Gluten?

Alcohol can have gluten ingredients in it or be gluten-free; it all depends on what it was made from. For example, drinks like ale or malt beer aren’t gluten free because they’re made with ingredients containing gluten. 

On the other hand, many other types of alcohol are gluten free. Many vodkas, wine varietals, and liqueurs are safe because they aren’t made with grain ingredients or have a thorough distillation process. Similarly, many whiskeys can be consumed by gluten free drinkers because the distillation process vaporizes almost all of the proteins. 

When looking for gluten free alcohol, make sure to research the product’s ingredients, company website, and distillation process. This will give you clear insight into whether or not gluten ingredients were used and the degree to which they may be present in the final product. Questions like "is Jagermeister gluten free?" or "is Captain Morgan gluten free?" can be answered in full detail with those specific brands.

If you offer both regular and gluten-free brands at your bar or restaurant, it’s easy to feel overwhelmed trying to track them all. Not only can our bar inventory software BinWise record this info for you, it can track other essential data for you too. Monitor high demand products in our perpetual inventory system, easily restock merchandise inventory, and keep an eye on shrinkage with the variance report. 

BinScan, our inventory scanning app, also eliminates up to 85% of the time you’d normally spend on inventory counts. Book a demo now to see how BinWise can streamline your management needs.

Does Bourbon Have Gluten?

Most bourbon is gluten free, thanks to the normal whiskey distillation process. The water, alcohol, congeners, and grain particles are all heated up in a distillation tank. During this process, most of the grain proteins are vaporized, making the bourbon safe for gluten free individuals to drink. 

Does Tequila Have Gluten?

Tequila does not have gluten because it’s made from agave. The agave plant is native to Mexico and it creates a nectar that tastes like honey. This means gluten-sensitive people and those with celiac disease can happily enjoy tequila. 

Does Rum Have Gluten?

Rum does not have gluten or gluten ingredients in it, because it’s made from molasses. Molasses is the residue from sugarcane plants, so it has nothing to do with cereal grains like rye and wheat. Rum is also a type of alcohol used in a few winter cocktails.

However, some rum varieties use ingredients that came in contact with gluten or are otherwise derived from grains. These are usually flavored rum brands. Most alcoholic beverage sites list whether or not their drinks are gluten free, and you can get additional information by contacting the distiller. 

What Alcohol Is Gluten Free?

Any alcohol that wasn't made with gluten ingredients or had enough of the protein removed through distillation is gluten free. The ​​National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases states that any alcohol created through a distillation process is gluten free. 

Keep reading to find out which brands are outright gluten free and which are a little more complicated. 

Is Gin Gluten Free?

Yes, nearly all gin is gluten free. Gin is made by distilling juniper berries and botanicals with a neutral alcohol grain, such as wheat, rye, corn, and barley. It’s also a popular ingredient in spring cocktails. There are so many gin brands to choose from.

Though each of these grains except for corn has gluten in it, the alcohol distillation process removes the gluten protein. This makes it safe to consume for those on a gluten free diet. 

Is Champagne Gluten Free?

Most champagne is gluten free because it’s made from a combination of three white wine grapes. Grapes don’t have any gluten in them because they aren’t grains and don’t come in contact with grains during the growing process. 

Champagne that was aged in oak barrels or used gluten as a fining agent is not gluten free. You may have symptoms of a wine allergy too, depending on what your sensitivities are and what ingredients were used in that champagne. To find out whether or not gluten was used for a particular champagne, take a look at the bottle's label or contact the manufacturer. 

Is Jack Daniel’s Gluten Free?

Jack Daniel’s is gluten free because any gluten found in the barley and rye used to make it is vaporized through distillation. Jack Daniel’s whiskey is about 80% corn, 12% barley, and 8% rye. 

Is Triple Sec Gluten Free?

Yes, Triple Sec is gluten free. The primary flavor in Triple Sec is sun-dried orange peels, and the base liquor in it is Cointreau. Since there are no wheat ingredients used in Triple Sec, it’s suitable for both gluten-tolerant and gluten-intolerant consumers. 

Is Kahlua Gluten Free?

Most Kahlua is gluten free, as it’s made with rum, coffee, vanilla, and sugar. Rum is made from molasses, which is plant residue after sugarcane juice is crystallized into sugar. 

There is some risk of gluten cross-contamination for rum that shares a production facility with beer and whiskey. You can verify this by checking the manufacturer’s website and asking whether or not they produce different products separately. 

Is Bacardi Gluten Free?

Yes, Bacardi rum is gluten free, with the exception of Bacardi Silver. This beverage is malt-based, meaning it’s made with barley which does contain gluten. 

Rum is made from molasses and sugarcane, which don’t come in contact with wheat ingredients. If you want to be completely sure a Bacardi product is gluten free, review the drink’s nutrition facts on their website. 

Is Malibu Rum Gluten Free?

Yes, Malibu Rum is gluten free. Rum is made from sugarcane juice and molasses. The answer to the question "Does rum have gluten?" is a simple "no" because no wheat ingredients are necessary to produce it. Malibu also states on their website that they add no known gluten-derived ingredients to their products. 

Is Smirnoff Ice Gluten Free?

Smirnoff Ice is not gluten free because it’s a malt-based beverage. Malt is made with barley which is one of the four grains that contain gluten. 

However, regular Smirnoff is gluten free. Standard Smirnoff is just vodka, which is made from rye. Although rye contains gluten, the gluten protein is vaporized during the distillation process, similar to whiskey and bourbon. 

Are Margaritas Gluten Free?

Yes, most margaritas are completely gluten free. The margarita is one of several popular cocktails and is made with tequila, which is derived from agave. So the answer to the question "Does tequila have gluten?" is negative. Agave is a desert plant that produces a nectar similar to the taste of honey. 

Is Captain Morgan Gluten Free?

Nearly all Captain Morgan products are gluten free because they are made with rum. Rum doesn’t have any gluten ingredients in it so there’s little to no chance of a gluten allergy. 

Captain Morgan does have flavored drinks though, like pineapple, coconut, and apple. Some of the ingredients in these drinks involve gluten, so be sure to do your research before ordering any of them. 

Is Cointreau Gluten Free?

Yes, Cointreau is completely gluten free. This alcoholic beverage is made with sweet and bitter orange peels, sugar, water, and sugar beet alcohol.

Since it’s not produced with any gluten ingredients, there is no gluten protein to filter out. Its citrusy presence and broad dietary compatibility make it a good beverage to include on your happy hour drinks list.

Is Amaretto Gluten Free?

Yes, most Amaretto is gluten free because the alcohol goes through a distillation process. Other ingredients used in Amaretto like almonds, apricot kernels, and peach stones also have no contact with wheat. 

If the Amaretto you’re buying comes from a large facility, double-check that it’s not produced on equipment shared with gluten-related products. Oftentimes, this is the only way to guarantee that there are no gluten ingredients or fining agents in your beverage. 

Is Jagermeister Gluten Free?

While there are more than 50 spices, herbs, and roots that comprise the signature flavor of Jagermeister, there are no known gluten ingredients in it. Jagermeister is a German alcoholic drink that’s been around for 87 years and continues to be popular worldwide. 

Is Malibu Gluten Free?

Yes, Malibu is gluten free. Malibu is a world-renowned Caribbean rum that doesn’t use any grain mash during the production process. Rum is produced from molasses and sugarcane juice--completely different from grains that contain gluten. 

Is Peach Schnapps Gluten Free?

Yes, peach Schnapps is a gluten free drink. Schnapps is made by distilling peaches and no ingredients containing gluten are involved. Any additional flavors or coloration added to Schnapps don’t have gluten in them and are added after distillation. 

Is Prosecco Gluten Free?

Yes, Prosecco is gluten free. Prosecco is one of several types of white wine made from the Glera grape, which is a white wine grape from Slovenia.

Since champagne doesn’t involve any gluten ingredients, it can be safely consumed by those on a gluten-free diet. Simply double-check that your Prosecco didn’t have any gluten fining agents at the end of its fermentation process. 

Is RumChata Gluten Free?

Yes, RumChata is gluten free, just like its usual rum counterpart. RumChata is a combination of rum, cinnamon, rice, vanilla, sugar, and cream. Since there are no gluten ingredients involved in the production of this drink, those on a gluten free diet can safely consume it. 

Is Aperol Gluten Free?

Yes, Aperol is made with gluten free ingredients. Aperol is an Italian bitters recipe that includes gentian root, orange peels, citrus oil, rhubarb, and several other ingredients. There are no wheat or grain ingredients used in Aperol, so it’s suitable for people on a gluten free diet. 

Is Everclear Gluten Free?

Yes, Everclear is completely gluten free. Everclear is a rectified spirit, which means it is distilled repeatedly to reach a high degree of concentration. 

It’s also made from corn, which is a type of grain that doesn’t have gluten in it. Anyone with celiac disease and those wanting to avoid gluten in general can drink Everclear without concern. 

Is Grand Marnier Gluten Free?

Grand Marnier is gluten free because it’s a combination of Cognac and Triple Sec. Cognac is a white wine brandy and Triple Sec is a citrus liqueur made from Cointreau. Because no grains are needed for Grand Marnier, those with gluten allergies can happily enjoy it. 

Is Vermouth Gluten Free?

Yes, vermouth is almost always gluten free. Vermouth is one of many sweet red wine types and has botanicals, spices, roots, and herbs added to it. Since vermouth is made from wine grapes, which aren’t grains, there’s no concern for gluten free individuals. 

The only time this differs is if you’re drinking vermouth made in a shared facility or if a gluten-related ingredient was added to the vermouth. You can verify this by contacting the manufacturer of the vermouth and requesting ingredient details. 

Is Blue Curacao Gluten Free?

Blue Curacao is gluten free because it’s made with the Lahara fruit, not any grains. Lahara is a bitter citrus fruit that’s too strong to be eaten by itself but is used in bitters and liqueurs. 

Lahara grows on the island of Curacao, hence its name. The drink’s blue appearance comes from color additives after the distillation process. Blue Curacao is in several popular cocktail recipes that call for an eye-catching blue hue, like Blue Bird and Blue Hawaiian.

Gluten-Free Beer

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, and other grains. As a growing number of people have experienced intolerance to gluten in recent years, gluten-free alcohol has become increasingly popular. That also includes gluten-free beer. As barley is one of the main ingredients in beer manufacturing, almost all brands of beer on the market have traces of gluten. 

Gluten-Free Alcohol Alternatives to Beer

Gluten-free beer is not found in the menus of every restaurant or bar. That’s why people who suffer from celiac disease or shouldn’t consume gluten for other reasons can order other gluten-free alcohol alternatives. Wine and cider are among the most popular options.

Vodka, gin, whiskey, and other spirits are also considered to be gluten-free. That’s because they are done through distillation. The process removes the gluten content and makes them excellent gluten-free alcohol options. 

How Is Gluten-Free Beer Made

There are two main ways to make gluten-free beer. 

  • Gluten-reduced beer. Some of the beers that are marketed as gluten-free have the protein extracted during the filtration process. That makes them suitable for most people with gluten intolerance. However, people with severe conditions who shouldn’t consume gluten in any form need to know that this beer can contain some traces of the protein.
  • Beer made of gluten-free ingredients. True gluten-free alcohol can be made of millet, buckwheat, corn, or other grains that don’t contain gluten proteins. Beer made of these grains is perfectly safe for people with celiac disease. The two main disadvantages of this type of gluten-free alcohol are that it costs more compared to regular beer and the taste is often significantly different.

Gluten Free Alcohol

Gluten free alcohol is any alcoholic beverage that doesn’t have the gluten protein in it. Gluten is made up of two seed storage proteins: gliadin and glutenin. This protein group is found in cereal grains such as barley, corn, wheat, and rye. 

You can find gluten free alcohol through any distiller or brewer that doesn’t utilize grain malt in their beverages. Gluten free alcoholic beverages include vodka, rum, tequila, whiskey, brandy, vermouth, gin, and champagne. This isn’t an exhaustive list but it does demonstrate how widespread gluten free beverages are. 

Gluten Free Liquor

Similar to gluten free alcohol, gluten free liquor is any liquor that doesn’t make use of gluten ingredients. It’s easier to find gluten free liquor than it is wine or beer because liquor is distilled, rather than fermented or brewed. 

Some liquors, like vodka or tequila, don’t make use of gluten ingredients at any point throughout the production process. This makes it easy to find drinks matching your dietary needs, whether you’re up for summer cocktails or are heading out to happy hour with friends. 

Gluten Free Drinks List

It has become easier to find gluten free drinks thanks to several factors. One is the increasing number of gluten free customers and a second is the development and distribution of these products. 

Many alcohol manufacturers already create gluten free beverages and make this information available on their websites. If you’re unsure about a drink’s gluten content, check directly with the manufacturer. If want to mix up gluten-free cocktail drinks, be sure to check each one of the cocktail ingredients.

To make your search easier, we researched gluten free brands in beer, whiskey, gin, vodka, and more. The following gluten free drinks list isn’t an exhaustive resource but it will point you in the right direction: 

Gluten Free Beer

  • Drummond Gluten Free
  • Brunehaut Blanche
  • Against the Grain
  • Ghostfish Brewing
  • Eckert’s Malting and Brewing
  • Two Brothers
  • Glutenberg
  • Harvester

Gluten Free Gin

  • Monopolowa Dry Gin
  • Cold River Gin
  • Aviation American Gin
  • Schramm Organic Gin
  • G-Vine

Gluten Free Whiskey

  • Queen Jennie Whiskey
  • Hudson Bay Bourbon
  • Jack Daniel’s
  • Wild Turkey Bourbon
  • Maker’s Mark

Gluten Free Wine

  • Pizzolato Wine
  • Inkarri Wine
  • Our Daily Wines
  • FitVine Wine
  • Radius Wine
  • Frey Vineyards
  • Koyle Family Vineyards
  • Cupcake Vineyards
  • Bodegas Iranzo
  • Chateau Beaubois

Gluten Free Tequila

  • El Jimador
  • Jose Cuervo
  • 1800 Tequila
  • Casamigos
  • Don Sergio
  • Cazul
  • Dos Hombres
  • Patrón

Gluten Free Vodka

  • Crystal Head
  • DiVine
  • Kamchatka
  • New Amsterdam
  • Dixie
  • Tito’s
  • Chopin Polish Vodka
  • Bombora Vodka
  • Smirnoff
  • Krome

Frequently Asked Questions About Gluten Free Alcohol

If you’re gluten free, you know what it’s like to look at menus and product labels differently. Everything from grocery shopping to a night out with friends needs to be assessed to avoid an allergic reaction. Be mindful of the fact that liquor after its alcohol expiration date will change in taste, but its gluten properties won't.

It’s no different with drinks. Whether you’re stocking up on well liquor or just buying for yourself, you have important product questions. Demystify the most frequently asked questions about gluten free alcohol with our answers below: 

What Alcohol Can You Drink Gluten-Free?

Any alcohol that doesn’t use gluten ingredients or involves distillation is usually gluten free. Drinks without grain mash are gluten free by default, and those that thoroughly distill their liquor remove the gluten proteins by vaporization. 

The only exception to these general rules is if an alcohol was aged in oak barrels, which sometimes mix with gluten ingredients. Gluten is also a common fining agent in beer and wine, so those with celiac disease should avoid these products. Always check the drink manufacturer’s information before consuming. 

What Alcohol Is Best for Celiac Disease?

There is no single best alcohol for those with celiac disease because individual needs and tastes are different. Furthermore, no alcohol will make celiac disease “better” or easier to live with. It’s simply about knowing which drinks have gluten ingredients in them and avoiding those drinks. 

There are several types of alcoholic drinks that work for gluten-intolerant people. They include, but aren’t limited to: 

  • Gin
  • Vermouth
  • Cointreau
  • Jack Daniel’s
  • Rum
  • Vodka
  • Bacardi
  • Margaritas
  • Triple Sec

Is Corona Beer Gluten-Free?

Corona is not considered Gluten free. This type of beer is made with barley malt, and barley is one of the four grains containing gluten proteins. 

Unlike liquor, beer is not distilled, so the ingredients used to make it aren’t vaporized out of the wort. Corona’s website states that there may be as little as 20 parts per million (PPM) in the beer before consumption, but it’s best avoided for gluten-sensitive individuals.

binwise pro demo request

Alco-Hold Up, That’s Gluten Free?!

Finding gluten free drinks that you or your friends can enjoy takes some effort. When you do discover one, it deserves a celebratory moment.

Use this post as a guide to inform your gluten free dinner or event planning. Heck, it makes a great resource for your bar staff as well!

Book a Demo
Reduce inventory counting time by as much as 85%. Schedule a demo now:
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.